Clubkozak-Pancrase Montreal
News and updates

Certification Circus

It seems everywhere I look in the fitness and martial art industry; everyone seems to have certifications from A to Z. If there’s something new and fashionable in the industry, people are running out to get certified in it.
I’m not knocking down certificates, I do think they are useful, but I feel some people view them as more important than the actual person teaching. There are trainers out there with certifications coming out of their ears; but when one sees their actual knowledge and skills, one questions all those carts.
Many times a month, I get people wanting to get certified as a Combat Sambo instructor thru me. Yes, I do offer this, but it takes some time, and must go thru two levels, even before one can become an apprentice instructor. Notice the word, apprentice, doesn’t mean a full instructor. Some people are insulted when I tell them that they have to go thru all the steps before getting one. They say they have years of experience in this and that, so why can’t I just get the cert? It would be like me saying the same thing back. No, if I wanted to learn a new style or technique form someone else, I too would go thru the steps..it only makes sense.
It seems everyone wants to become an instructor right away, without going thru the first steps. There are places that feed this need, by offering certs to teach, by making an application, and of course, paying the fee.
Of course there are teachers out there with many certifications, who are highly skilled. My main point is that people try to be impressive with all their certifications, and it all ends up a huge circus act.

 

No Responses to “Certification Circus”

Leave a Reply

